To sir, with love

Return of the summer music series – stuck in the car with Leesha

Summer has returned, and with it comes those long road trips accompanied by “are we there yet?” and “do we have to listen to this song?”  Or in my case, scream-singing lyrics (with lots of solos), discussing the meaning of songs, and random song factoids.

IMG_2096

Today’s song – “To Sir, with Love,” by Lulu is in honor of the school year being officially over…unless you’re a grad student torturing yourself with summer classes (why did I think that was a good idea?).

I’ve had a lot of professors and teachers over the course of my life, but (as with many of us) – there’s one teacher who really made a difference.  The one who believed in you and pushed you to do more than you thought possible.  For me – it was a high school teacher and his name is such an excellent novel character name – Captain Jim (he was in the military before becoming a teacher).  The subject?  Dreaded math.  The back story: other teachers told me and three other girls that we were hopeless in math and therefore should take an “easy” statistic class our junior year to fulfill our credit obligations.  He was an excellent teacher and saw something in us that the other teachers missed.  We excelled in AP Statistics and our senior year, took AP Statistics II, Pre-calculus, and Calculus (yep,  that’s not a typo, it was in the same year).  As for me…well, the girl who was told she couldn’t be taught math, now does math for a living.

Thanks Captain Jim (and all the teachers like you), you really did make a difference.  To sir, with love.

Those school girl days of telling tales
And biting nails are gone
But in my mind I know
They will still live on and on

But how do you thank someone
Who has taken you from crayons to perfume?
It isn’t easy, but I’ll try
If you wanted the sky
I would write across the sky in letters
That would soar a thousand feet high
To Sir, with love

The time has come for closing books
And long last looks must end
And as I leave I know
That I am leaving my best friend

A friend who taught me right from wrong
And weak from strong
That’s a lot to learn, what
can I give you in return?

If you wanted the moon
I would try to make a star
But I, would rather you let me give my heart
To Sir, with love

In case you didn’t know, “To sir, with love,” is from a movie with the same title about a teacher making a difference in an inner city school…and shamefully, I haven’t seen it yet. But Amazon is shipping it to me…so the problem will soon be fixed.  🙂

3 thoughts on “To sir, with love”

    1. Thanks. This is my dad’s favorite series I do too, probably because I discovered a lot of this music while riding in the car with him and whining about it. :p

      I can’t wait to see the movie. I love classic films and I can’t believe I’ve gone this long without seeing it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

