Urge Cookies and other weird food facts

As I’m over 30 and have a job that requires me to sit on my growing posterior all day, I’ve decided to do that thing that most adults do over the course of their lives: DIET. <hiss, boo>   That has to be my least favorite four-letter word.

Which reminds me, why haven’t they come up with some sort of metabolism shot that would allow me to continue my unhealthy lifestyle and still squeeze into a size 2?  I can see it now – “I’ll have a coke, burger, fries, and a side of metabolism booster shot, please.”  :p Hey, we can all dream…

But as that’s not happening anytime soon, and because I’m hungry, I give you – weird food facts:


#1. Graham Crackers were originally created to stop “carnal urges” including the kind you do by yourself.  Because apparently these urges can be tamed by eating crackers.   Hmm, interesting theory, I wonder what the old creator of graham crackers would think of the gooey goodness known as smores? :p

#2. Eggs aren’t refrigerated in the United Kingdom, but you still need to refrigerate the ones you bought in the refrigerated section of a U.S. grocery store.

#3. Saffron is one of the most expensive (and possibly THE most expensive spice) in the world. I know this to be true, as I spent a fair bit of money buying some in an awesome market in Barcelona.

#4.  For the newly health-conscious like me, beets can turn your pee and poo red (learned that one the hard way).

#5.  People have been paid in chocolate…well, kind of.  According to an article at the Smithsonian.com, it was sometimes used in place of wages during the Revolutionary War.  Also, it can help you recover from being around Dementors and in dealing with real-life annoying people (who may also try to suck the life out of you).

There you have it.  If you’re dieting like me, I feel your pain.  If you’re not, eat something in my honor. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Urge Cookies and other weird food facts”

  1. #4…now that’s a fact that stopped me in my tracks. Having only occasionally added them in to a salad, I had no idea. Thanks for the heads up.

    Meanwhile, I’m not “dieting” but am definitely trying to make some healthier food choices. Let’s just say, I feel the same way about that as you do about dieting. Where is that metabolism booster shot when you need it? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beets aren’t bad for you though, just have those interesting properties…freaked out the first time it happened to me. I think if they’re roasted you’re more likely to see it. :p and yes, someone in the medical community really should get on that booster idea. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

