Take a chance

I’ve always loved music, sayings, and quotes.  They have that unique ability to impart thoughts and feelings with a memorable punch.

This week’s quote is one I’ve come across recently –

“So many people are shut up tight inside themselves like boxes, yet they would open up, unfolding quite wonderfully, if only you were interested in them.” – Sylvia Plath

There are many things I’ve learned over the last year or so and one of the most important is simply this – give people a chance and appreciate others.  There are hidden depths to people – granted some of it can be bad, but some of it can be really good and friendships can spring in the most unlikely of places.

I’ve always been an open person, and since my divorce, I’ve really pushed myself to give people a chance (alas, sometimes divorces can give you trust and self-worth issues).  There are two people in particular who I’ve come across since my divorce and my initial feelings were to stay away…that nothing good would come out of knowing them.  But – in both cases – I’ve been surprised by these new relationships, and definitely for the better.

So , don’t be afraid to get out there and give people a chance…you never know who you’ll meet and what new things you’ll discover.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Take a chance”

Leave a Reply

