It’s all about the accessories (GOT 6.1 Review)

Last night was the much-anticipated release of Season 6 of Game of Thrones and the show’s writers updated us on the many storylines, which didn’t really help to advance the plot on any of them, as a lot of the characters are more or less where we left them.  To recap:

  1. Arya is still blind (for now).
  2. Margaery is still in prison (for now). Sidenote: Did anyone else get a weird lecherous vibe off of the high sparrow when he visited her?
  3. Daenerys is still in need of rescuing and Jorah and Daario are still looking for her (again, for now).
  4. Cersei still hasn’t exacted her revenge (say it with me, “for now”).
  5. And Jon is still dead (please please please, only for now).

<Sigh>  And it seemed like this episode was really short.  But, we do still have a GoT inspired knowledge to add to our lessons learned pile:

I mean, really, they can.  Who knew that a necklace could offset a cloak so well?

Predictions (because, why not? Everyone else has one.)

  • Arya will get her vision back – because, duh. And also because the red woman alluded to it a few seasons ago when they met.
  • Lady Mel will bring Jon Snow back (because otherwise, I will cry).  But I’m guessing it won’t be for a few episodes yet. 
  • Sansa is going to amass an army of sorts and storm Winterfell (is it too much to hope that she or Theon gets to kill Ramsay?).
  • The house of widows & Daenerys – I’m hoping she can free those ladies. And that some of them are witty – not lame and depressing.
  • Jaime Lannister might die. I know, I know. But I feel like I need a crazy one in here. And also, now that most things/people keeping he and Cersei apart have been removed…I feel like that story arc may get kind of boring.
  • Winter is coming – I mean, they keep saying it, so it’s bound to happen at sometime.  Maybe this season’s finale will have the white walkers approaching Castle Black. 

Also, for giant foodie nerds like me – you can nosh on Game of Thrones inspired foods whilst watching the new season.  I tried out some delicious carb options that I found from the Google machine 🙂  and I highly recommend them –

  • Bread and salt – be sure to start this a few hours before you’re ready to watch as the dough has to rise a few times before putting it in the oven.
  • Honeycakes – which I’ve officially nicknamed Sansa-Cakes, since she liked them so much last season and they’re seriously a show stealer (as she’s likely to be this season). 

 

7 thoughts on “It’s all about the accessories (GOT 6.1 Review)”

  1. Last night was kind of a big re-cap, and didn’t accomplish much. The end was completely strange. It’s like the producer said, “Wait, we forgot the boobs. Who hasn’t left the studio yet tonight? Get her in here.” I never thought I’d complain about that, but it felt so contrived.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked the episode all in all, but the character catch-ups are always hard to get through. GoT could be two hours each Sunday and still not cover enough ground. Good writing and thank you for catching my own.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I just hope that this week’s episode is more satisfying and has more actual action. In some ways I am glad they touched on all of the major plot-lines as we didn’t have to wait 4 episodes to see most of the well known characters.

      Like

  3. Yeah at least we did see every maim character, I think the red woman is hurt over stannis dying and her visions not coming true z

    Like

Leave a Reply

