On Facing Whirlwinds

wordswag/pixabay

For over a year, it seems like there’s been a lot of change in my life after years of stagnation and decay.  And while it sometimes seems like a lot, the changes are welcomed (if not sometimes scary).

Anyway, here’s what’s been going on with me –

Soon to be an auntie!   This is probably the most whirl-widiness of things and the most wonderful.  My sister is going to be giving birth sometime this month and quite possibly this week to my first nephew (or niece for that matter).  We’re officially on baby watch and I can’t wait to meet the little guy (and of course, spoil him). 🙂  So exciting!

Branching out to other genres:

I got an idea for a children’s book (since I’m about to be an auntie) and decided to follow through.  I think it’s a cute idea and came out fairly well…I’m thinking of trying to write a few more and maybe get them published.  I started a new blog (it’s a WordPress one, written under my same username, so if I already follow you, I can’t follow you again under the new site.  Which is pretty unfair).  Check it out if you’d like – it’s mostly children’s book reviews and will at some point feature my adventures in babysitting my soon-to-be-arriving nephew.  Yay!

Also, with my meetup group, I’ve been going to open mic nights for poetry – which has been awesome.  I wish I discovered one of these places so much earlier (like when I wrote poetry).  The complicated (maybe good, maybe bad) bit on this is that it’s given me the poetry bug again.  I’m half-way done with a poem that I think I can read there…maybe even this month.  If I do (and probably if I wimp out and don’t read it there), I’ll make sure I post it so the poor open mic people won’t be the only one’s to suffer my rhymes.  :p

Writer’s Digest 2015 Conference & Pitch Slam:

I did the Writer’s Digest Conference last year and I had so much fun (and learned so much) that I’m doing it again this year.   Only this time, I’m doing the pitch slam for an agent for one of my books as well.  But before I do, I have to research the agents who will be there, practice a pitch, and continue to polish my book.  <Sigh> Just small details, right? :p  Should be fun though, at least this time around, I have business cards at the ready.

Are any of you going to the Writer’s Digest Conference this year?

And…got into an online MBA program, which I will attempt to complete with a full-time job – Wow, this year (and the next few) are going to be interesting…and I’d imagine quite busy.  But it’ll be good – I think…well, I hope.  Maybe I’ll get better with my time management (and scheduling blog posts in advance) skills.

I guess what they say really is true, when it rains, it pours…

14 thoughts on “On Facing Whirlwinds”

  1. Well, if the adage that if you want something done, you give it to someone busy holds true, I know exactly who to give work to!

    Joking aside, good luck with everything on your plate! And congrats on baby – being an aunt is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

