Review: The Martian (or look Mom, I read more than just smut!)

cover_martian“The Martian,” by Andy Weir

So, I think you know that I don’t usually read science or sci-fi books…closest I’ve come in a while was a romance novel that had a scientist in it…that kind of counts, right? :p  But since I saw the preview for “The Martian” recently, I picked the book up on a lark…

Summary

In “The Martian,” astronaut Mark Watney gets stranded on Mars after a freak storm and accident causes his crew to believe him dead and bug out of the red planet way before their mission was scheduled to end.  Mark comes to after his fellow astronauts have left and finds…he has no way to make contact with his crew or NASA back home.  Shite.  So, he must figure out how to survive for four years (until the next crew comes to Mars) on his own on rations that were meant to last far less than that….and battle a host of other problems along the way.

Review

I said it before and I’ll say it again, I don’t usually read this kind of book.  Actually, I bought it because I thought my dad might like it..and then proceeded to read it all and have yet to give it to him…sorry, Dad.  And there’s a lot of science, seriously.  But it’s not presented in a high brow way or in a way that makes you feel dumb.  It’s brilliantly presented by our amusing narrator and engineer/rogue botanist – Matt – and his excellent sense of humor.

Honestly, Matt is the best part about this book.  He seriously made me giggle….or seriously giggle.

He’s determined to be up-beat and since his journal is his only main outlet of communication/company, he is determined to keep us entertained as well.  This story has a little bit of everything – a whole lot of drama (can he/will he survive against all of the odds? can he contact NASA?), humor (some of his comments, especially about aqua man talking to whales, were hilarious), ingenuity (the man is smart as hell), and excellent plot.  I loved it – 5 out of 5 stars.  And I plan on seeing the movie, though I’m wondering how they’ll present all of the narration…should be interesting.

Side note – amazingly this is Andy Weir’s first novel, who is apparently a bit of a genius himself.  You go, dude.  Can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

11 thoughts on “Review: The Martian (or look Mom, I read more than just smut!)”

      1. That is an excellent rule (one I hold as well) though there have been movies that have been so good that they’ve inspired even non-readers to pick up the original novel and for that we can be glad.

        Like

Leave a Reply

