Stuck in the car with Leesha (Summer Music Series II)

If you’re rolling down any road with me, unless we’re discussing something VERY intently, chances are there’s music on – either in the background, filling up the spaces between our dialogue….or blaring with me (and hopefully you) singing lead vocals.

I will however, stop singing periodically to ask you know what the song really means or tell you a story about a memory associated with the music.  And hopefully, you’d tell me some of yours too.

Today, we’re going to talk about The Summer Wind – the Frank Sinatra version, because it’s my favorite version of the song.

As an Italian American, ol’ blue eyes is like a birthright.  Supposedly, there was a great aunt or second cousin of my grandmother’s who use to date Frank Sinatra.  Her dad made her break up with Frank because the old patriarch thought Frankie would never amount to much….I think nearly everyone from the greater NY/NJ area is related to someone with this same exact story. :p

Anyway, let’s be honest about what The Summer Wind is really about…

it’s not long-lost love,

fleeting romance,

or the one that got away,

this song, is categorically and unapologetically about farts.

🙂

Now, if we were in the car together, I’d have to re-start the song for you and croon in suggestive ways (I promise that my crooning is amusing) to highlight my point.  And of course, wiggle my eyebrows with every blow of the horn (see? Farts! told you.)  Let’s take it from the top –

The summer wind, came blowin’ in from across the sea
It lingered there to touch your hair and walk with me
All summer long…

<horns clearly denoting farting>

we sang a song…

<horns clearly denoting farting>

and then we strolled that golden sand
Two sweethearts and the summer wind

<Leesha interjection – isn’t it the worst when a fart follows someone?  Terrible.>

Like painted kites, those days and nights, they went flyin’ by
The world was new beneath a blue umbrella sky
Then softer than a piper man one day it called to you
I lost you, I lost you to the summer wind

<Leesha interjection – Frankie, maybe you wouldn’t have lost her if you eased up on the beans.>

The autumn wind and the winter winds, they have come and gone
And still the days, those lonely days, they go on and on
And guess who sighs his lullabies through nights that never end  

<Leesha interjection:  usually those nights after eating Chipotle…>

My fickle friend, the summer wind

The summer wind
Warm summer wind
Mmm, the summer wind

<Leesha interjection: Warm summer wind.  Yep. Farts.  You’re welcome.  Next time, listen to all of the blasts from that horn and try not to giggle.>

The Summer Wind, obviously not actually about farts.  Music by Heinz Meier and lyrics by Johnny Mercer, performed to my great amusement by Frank Sinatra (back up vocals and silliness provided by me, of course).

Like this post?  I wrote a similar one, about American Pie that you should check out.

10 thoughts on “Stuck in the car with Leesha (Summer Music Series II)”

Leave a Reply

