A to Z Challenge – N (WR)

It’s April again and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge and this year, my theme for the A to Z Challenge is characters and narrators.

N is for Nerds

N Nerds, those cerebral cowboys, have crept into literature, movies, and television when the popular kids weren’t looking – and it makes us glad.

As a fellow nerd (who seems to be growing in her nerd super-power lately), I enjoy seeing other nerds in stories – solving mysteries, saving their friends with expert knowledge they’ve found in books or online, researching ne’er do wells (Ha! another word for N), and my personal favorite, reading.

Notable Nerds:

  • Sherlock Holmes – forget the highly functioning sociopath thing for a minute, at this core, Mr. Holmes is a nerd.  And to quote the woman (Irene Adler), “brainy is the new sexy.”
  • Hermione Granger – ha, like I even have to explain this one! We all know she’s a giant nerd and the only reason Ron and Harry didn’t die in just about every book.  On behalf of nerds everywhere – Harry and Ron, you’re welcome.
  • Elizabeth Bennet (Pride and Prejudice) – okay, maybe she wasn’t a full nerd, but she was exceedingly well-read, which is an important attribute of nerdiness and one of the things that Darcy found super sexy…btw – Darcy, the original nerd fanboy? 😉

IMG_2586

8 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – N (WR)”

  1. Some of my favourite characters and people are nerds! I’m loving your theme, especially since I have difficulty creating unique and well developed characters. I write for children/young adult and I sometimes find it difficult to write true to their voice. Thank you for all the inspiration. 🙂 Emily @angelcat2014 from
    Sunny Side Up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. 🙂

      I love nerdy characters and people too. And if it makes you feel better, I’ve heard that writing for children/YA is incredibly complicated – trying to find a voice that the younger generation can relate to and yet not talking down to them. I’ve never tried it, but have always been curious on how to tackle that genre. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

