A to Z Challenge – J (WR)

It’s April again and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge and this year, my theme for the A to Z Challenge is characters and narrators.

JJ is for Jokers/Jesters

Most of us love a good laugh and appreciate the people who are able to artfully tell a good joke.

Delivery is key in a lot of humor and some of it can be difficult to portray in novels or short stories – a quirk of lips, raising an eyebrow (this happens in SO many romance novels, it’s almost ridiculous and yet I still enjoy it), a wink, or a subtle change in voice.

There are different types of humor for different genres and writing styles.  My humor tends to run from silly to bawdy (emphasis on the latter), which fits nicely into my favorite genre, contemporary romance.  But not all genres fit with every type of humor – I’ve found this to be so when I’ve tried to write more dark and hard-nosed detective stories.  I find that I can’t keep up the more dark elements of the story without adding in small jokes that don’t seem to fit with the rest of the mood.  Perhaps the solution is to write more quirky heroines in my stories or try to avoid my need to throw in humor to lighten the mood… we’ll see.

Do you add humor in your stories?

11 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – J (WR)”

    1. lol. excellent point. And I’m the type of person who cracks jokes to make people feel better, so I can’t help infusing a story with humor, even when my characters are in a bit of a rough patch.

      Like

  1. I love a good jester. They can be complete scene-stealers in the best way possible.But I agree you have to tailor it to the tone of your prose and the delivering character, or else it gets distracting. Humor is one of the most complex facets of writing, because so much is timing and visual it almost necessitates adjusting your own stylistic tendencies and increasing the speed or pace in order to work it in properly. But when it works…it is glorious. When a book makes you laugh out loud, you know its good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually did that while reading on a plane the other day – laughed out loud – people always life their eyebrows which makes me giggle more. And you’re right, humor is difficult to master in writing. I find that I revisit my funny scenes over and over again to make sure they at least make me laugh. Then I annoy my proofers about them. Sometimes it takes a few rounds to get it just right. 🙂

      Like

  2. I try to include subtle humor such as I have a side character who always seems to be worried because he hasn’t replaced his windshield wipers, and his bad timing for fretting about ti drives his wife crazy. I so that sometimes to detract from the darkness or intensity of the actual story line.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh that’s a good idea and a good point – the subtle humor can break things up for the writer and the reader, but not so much that it detracts from the darkness fitting of the story. 🙂 thanks for the excellent point!

      Like

Leave a Reply

