Locke & Key – Book 1 Review

Graphic Novel Review of:  Locke & Key, Volume 1 – Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez

file_1_5111

I have quite a few friends who read (some who experiment in writing) comic books and graphic novels.  A few weeks ago, I asked where I should begin with graphic novels <giggle>, and since I am already a Joe Hill fan, my friends pointed me to the Locke & Key series.

Side note: before I was a fan of romance novels, I was a fan of the horror/thriller genre.  I still am a fan, though now whenever I read/watch horror, I have to watch cartoons before bed. :p  So, for all my fellow lovers of romance – sorry, but this isn’t a romance series.

Locke & Key, Volume 1: Welcome to Lovecraft

After a brutal attack, the Locke family moves to a family house, the Keyhouse in Lovecraft, MA, for a fresh start and to heal their wounds.  But the house is full of secrets – keys, doorways, and a past…

I really enjoyed my first foray into the world of graphic novels.  I’ve read two of Joe Hill’s novels (Heart Shaped Box and Horns), so I already knew that he was a talented story-teller.  Like in his novels, Joe Hill does not disappoint in the first part of this graphic novel series – the story, the build-up, and the climax – all well done.  The art, by Gabriel Rodriguez, compliments the dark feel of the thriller genre and the magic of the story.  Five out of five stars for Locke & Key Volume 1.  Can’t wait to read the rest. 🙂

One particular bit of dialogue stuck with me, as it rings true in life and also has my mind spinning through the possibilities for the next books:

…No, you can’t understand.  Because you’re reading the last chapter of something, without having read the first chapters.  You’re a little guy, Bode.  Kids think they’re coming into a story at the beginning, when usually they’re coming in at the end.

ohhhhh! So true! And it makes you curious about the history, doesn’t it? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Locke & Key – Book 1 Review”

Leave a Reply

