NaNoWriMo and nap plotting

National Novel Writing Month & The Importance of nap plotting

Alas, I’ve been a bad blogger over the last few weeks. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย Life got busy, as it tends to do, but, like the prodigal daughter, I have returned. ย So, let’s slaughter the fatted calf or NaNoWriMo word counts, if we can manage it…

I don’t know about you, but I like to have a loose idea about my scenes or chapters before I write them. ย I’m not a hard-core outliner, though sometimes ifย  I have a full story idea in my mind, I will jot down notes for future scenes (out of fear of forgetfulness).

But, I am a fan of what I call visualizations…also known as nap plotting.

imageHear me out, this isn’t just an excuse to nap – well, maybe a little. ๐Ÿ™‚

When I get to a difficult bit in a story (patch of dialogue, a character stuck somewhere, or a scene not flowing), I find it helpful to visualize what will happen next. And really, you can’t properly visualize without closing your eyes.

…and since visualizations take a while, shouldn’t your neck also be supported and your head comfortable?

….and it is November, so clearly snuggling into that blanket can only help the situation. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

Most of the time after my nap-plotting, I know what my characters should do next. ย Of course, there are times when I wake up without a clue of what should happen next. ย But hey, a nap can never really be counted as a loss. ย Besides, maybe my writer brain just needed to turn off before coming up with my next idea. ย Speaking of which, I need to “visualize” the next part of the my novel and hopefully I won’t drool too much on my notebook the time…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Happy November and happy novel writing, writers! ย May your pens be mighty and your plots be strong! ๐Ÿ™‚

19 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo and nap plotting”

      1. Ha! They are heirlooms now. Don’t leave them in a locker with family. They’ll be on Ebay before you know it. From now on, my Moleskine naps with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Haha! Finally a post to affirm my methods. I used to do this exact thing when I was in school and, you know, needed a little extra time to think about what I was going to write next on papers. I think I used to call it “sleep-thinking.” Anyway, thanks for reminding me of this wonderful method. I think I’ll be trying it soon for Nano ;-).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh that happens to me too sometimes! but that’s why those moleskin notebooks have lots of pages. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I usually keep a few pages in the front of my notebook blank for writing ideas. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. You’ve got a real thing here! I usually fall asleep every night thinking “okay, where do I go next in my story?” It’s just become habit now. And it helps. It doesn’t hurt to prime your mind for some inspiring dreams either.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its true. I know a lot of people that sleep with notebooks by their beds for that very reason. Strangley enough nap plotting and run plotting work well for me…opposite ends of the activity spectrum, but there you go.. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

