Review: “Dirty Trick”

Ebook Review of “Dirty Trick (A Perfectly Matched Novel),” By Christine Bell

image In “Dirty Trick,” we meet the part-owner of a dating service, Grace Love, and her neighbor/best friend, Detective Trick Mathews.

In Salem, Halloween is a huge deal and Grace finds herself without a date to the best party in town.  Maybe she’ll meet Mr. Right (or hey, maybe Mr. Right Now) on All Hallow’s Eve…

Trick has been coyly trying to prove to Grace that they should take their friendship to the next level and that he is no longer <ahem> a man-whore. If he dons a mask and sweeps Grace off of her feet, maybe he can prove to her that they would be perfect together….

Hmmm…lying to your friend (especially in disguise) is a big no-no.  But, as we’ve learned in the past, in romance novels – anything goes.  Can Trick sweep Grace off of her feet and still keep her trust?

Dirty Trick” was a little different than your average friend romance.  Usually, in this genre, the friends add sex to their relationship for fun and then gradually fall in love (or realize that they’ve been in love with each other for a long time).  In this one, Trick’s disguise allows him to hook up with Grace – which he didn’t plan on, but doesn’t really stop either.  He does feel guilty, but can’t seem to stop himself from meeting her for a second time and puts off telling her the truth…which is a plot device for drama and makes the hero look like a weenie.

It’s a tricky thing, having your hero or heroine lie in a novel – and a very narrow line to walk as an author.  Too many lies (or omissions) or lame motivations for lies and your readers will balk.  In my first novel (which is still in rough draft form), my hero doesn’t reveal his true intentions to my heroine for quite some time.  You see, he aims to steal something from her. This lone piece of my story made me struggle to finish – and struggle to come up with a good reason why my hero would do this.  Now in romance novels, there are heroes that do a great many things that normal people really shouldn’t (this happened in the Wallflower series and I still absolutely loved one of the heroes).  In some novels –  circumstance, charm, or pure writing talent allow us to look past it.  In my case at least, I’m still chewing on how to “fix” the lying issue in my novel.  Or at least let my readers in on the motivations earlier in the story, so they don’t dismiss him entirely.  Ugh.  But alas, complicated heroes make a more interesting story – and also make authors go through several re-writes. :p

As for “Dirty Trick” – the characters have good chemistry, the dialogue is pretty good, the setting of Halloween in Salem is neat, and the story is fairly good…points taken off for a hero that should have come clean sooner or at least a heroine that figured it out on her own!  I give the story a 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Side note:  Sorry I’ve been a bit of a slacker with my posts lately.  Life has gotten complicated (as life is wont to do).  But my wi-fi signal is strong and my reading appetite is still un-quenched!  And, I am determined to get back to my regular posting schedule – yay! 🙂

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Review: “Dirty Trick””

  1. Oh yeah lies in romance are SO hard to get through and make believable. I’ve seen it work very nicely in some and crash in others. Sorry to hear this one wasn’t quite a knock out. I’ve enjoyed some of hers in the past and think I have this one somewhere. Hrm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

