A to Z Challenge – J (AC)

A to Z Challenge

For the challenge, I’m focusing on the A to Z of reading and writing romance novels. This series of posts will contain Adult Content. So, if you’re really young or don’t enjoy dirty things, just don’t read it. No harm, no foul. Otherwise…enjoy. 🙂

image

J is for Jokes

I like books with a healthy dose of humor, whether it’s dark comedy, sarcasm, silly jokes, or witty banter – regardless of the genre (dirty jokes are especially appreciated).  Written comedy is a tricky art, since a lot of comedy is in the delivery – a change in your voice, an eye roll, or even stage presence – these are things that are hard to convey in a novel.  But if comedy is done well in your books, you can keep a reader hooked – even through those tricky “set-up” or in-between scenes.

…And J is also for Junk 😉

Ah yes, the junk.  In those fabulously explicit sex scenes, many authors can be quite expansive in their description of the hero’s junk.  In old timey romance novels (the ones in your mom’s basement that smell rather musty), the author would refer to the hero’s man candy as a “flaming sword” or famously, his “quivering member.”

While some authors still shy away from using key words, other authors will give you a full lowdown on the cock – sometimes it’s pierced (oh my), but it is always ready, often springing from the confines of jeans and into action.  And sometimes, the heroine sees it and wonders (often out loud), “how will it fit?  (Think I’m joking, boys?  Look it up!)   This bit makes the hero chuckle knowingly and always makes my lips curl up in glee.

Side note:  Friends claim that they can tell when I’m reading a sex scene because of some specific, naughty smile on my face.  I guess that just means the author did a good job.  😉

8 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – J (AC)”

  1. LOL excellent. And some still use those lovely olden terms. I’ve been working on a “Kitties and Cocks” post for the last year pulling quotes from different reads. It’s a hoot seeing what they come up with.

    The will it fit always makes me chuckle too but dang some of these are so hung I might be a little worried for my girlie bits! lol

    Happy A to Z-ing!
    ~Anna
    herding cats & burning soup.

    Like

  2. I don;t generally find jokes funny. Especially long ones. They are never worth the wait no matter how well they are told. In novels, I do like to have a laugh but I can’t say what makes me laugh exactly. A humorless novel is far less entertaining. Above His Station by Darren Craske and Girt by David Hunt were two recent reads which made me laugh out loud. I’ll tell you what does not make me laugh: the work ‘junk’ as used to refer to masculine equipment. 😉

    Like

    1. Heehee, well we all have our preference for words that refer to naughty bits. :p

      As to jokes in novels, you’re right – when they’re too long or too complicated, they tend to lose their comedic power. I think a lot of what makes me laugh in novels is witty banter and situational humor (especially those silly awkward scenes). 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

