A to Z Challenge – I (AC)

A to Z Challenge

For the challenge, I’m focusing on the A to Z of reading and writing romance novels. This series of posts will contain Adult Content. So, if you’re really young or don’t enjoy dirty things, just don’t read it. No harm, no foul. Otherwise…enjoy. 🙂

imageI is for intercourse (as in conversation/dialogue…you lot, with your dirty minds! 🙂 )

Intercourse (I know it’s juvenile, but I can’t stop this smirk from spreading across my lips) is important in any novel.  In romance novels, our hero and heroine often engage in witty banter and sexy flirting.  But if the author doesn’t have a “good ear” for dialogue, the exchanges between characters can feel forced or worse – not true to life.

I hate it when I see intercourse <giggle> that doesn’t ring true.  Don’t you?

I is also for interruptions:

Yes, interruptions – you know what I’m talking about.

The hero and the heroine are swept up in the heat of the moment.  She holds her breath, her heart pounding against her ribs, as his long fingers reach for the zipper of her jeans… and then <wait for it>  her roommate, his brother, someone’s ex, a vampire, a serial killer, or fucking wolverine walks in and interrupts.  Gah!  Bastards!

But, who am I kidding?  I love them.  Interruptions (whatever they happen to be) are part of what makes that eventual sex scene so hot.

Don’t believe me?  Trust me, sometimes it’s all about….

….anticipation.  Now that would have been a good “a” word for this month.  😉

9 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – I (AC)”

  1. When I read intercourse – not the town in PA, I assumed you meant the sexual kind and yes anticipation would have been a great A word. As to banter etc, the author must get into the head (not that head) of her character and for interruptions in the first version of my soul collector story the couple was constantly getting interrupted by the devil calling the agent for a job. It made for frustration more than anything else

    Like

    1. Hehee. Intercourse, PA.. I’ve heard a lot of people like to take place by their signs.

      And interruptions are definitely tricky, they have to make sense in the story (also not hinder too much) and there can’t be too many.

      Like

Leave a Reply

