A to Z Challenge – H (AC)

A to Z Challenge

For the challenge, I’m focusing on the A to Z of reading and writing romance novels. This series of posts will contain Adult Content. So, if you’re really young or don’t enjoy dirty things, just don’t read it. No harm, no foul. Otherwise…enjoy. 🙂

imageH is for Holiday Themed Romances

<Sigh>  I like holiday stories, honestly I do.  Every year, I watch “Miracle on 34th Street,” “Elf,” “Shop around the corner,” and a wide assortment of other holiday movies.

That said – it is so hard for me to get into and like holiday themed romance novels.  They tend to be overly cutesy and a little, well, forced.  I’m sure holiday novels are really hard to write – how do you combine adequate holiday lore with the raunchy sexiness of romance novels – without making me roll my eyes at the cheesiness?  Well, maybe you’re not supposed to.  Maybe readers of holiday smut want cheesiness in their stories.

What say you, lovers of romance – do you like holiday smut with or without the cheesiness?

11 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – H (AC)”

      1. LOL! Nah, just Holiday themed. 🙂 Around the Holidays I NEED something sappy to read. I don’t want anything too dramatic that is gonna add to my stress! LOL

        Like

  1. I think I prefer it cheesey. I don’t like smut per se, but a well written sex scene which avoids foul language can be very…entertaining. I like flirty conversations but feel uncomfortable when they sound sleazy. This is all entirely subjective of course. That’s my two cents worth.

    Like

    1. Well, writing sex scenes and flirty dialogue is definitely an art – the author has to have a really good sense of the readers that frequent their sub-genre (whether it’s historical, contemporary, paranormal, etc).

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  2. don’t think I’ve read a holiday romance. But my writer friends show snippets of theirs on our writing group. I’d have to say pretty contrived plots

    Like

    1. Yeah, it does seem that they’re a bit contrived. Maybe that’s the larger problem (more than the copious amounts of cheesiness). And yet, I still try to find good smut during the holiday season – something must be wrong with me! :p

      Like

Leave a Reply

