Pacing

My struggle to slow things down

imageI’ve recently finished a first draft of a novel and have begun the process of editing.

There are many authors who trim the fat from their rough drafts.  I will trim some of my story in places, I’m sure.  But, a lot of my first draft editing will revolve around adding flesh to the more bony pieces of my story (there are a good many of them).

And why is that?

Well, I need to slow down when writing – to expand on some of my over-simplification or summarization to enrich my story.  I feel like my “bony parts” are a natural outgrowth of someone who used to skip around to different scenes in a story (and never finish) moving to a more linear form of writing.  And then there is always the hurry to get a rough draft finished.  All of these factors can make me forget to savor the true magic of description for some of my “in-between” or “set up” scenes – something I am trying to work on now.

While going through my rough draft to expand certain sections, I like to think of Frank Sinatra’s words of advice in “Nice n’ Easy:”

“…the problem now of course is

to simply hold your horses

to rush would be a crime

’cause nice and easy does it every time…”

Ol’ blue eyes can always put things in perspective.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Pacing”

  1. I just finished a rough draft too, and I believe I will be adding to the bony pieces as well. I definitely understand what you are saying here. When I am done editing this one, I will need to start on editing the sequel. I finished it two years ago….

    Like

    1. Wow. Congratulations to you on finishing a rough draft as well. I feel like editing is both a joy and a curse – joy that a draft is finished and a curse in making something useful out of it. This is the first completed rough draft that I’ve tried to edit – how about you?

      Like

      1. Um…that might be an embarrassing question to answer. I have rewritten the same novel like seven times, changing the story slightly each time. Every time I went to edit it, I tossed it and started over. That book will be the sequel to this one, and it is essentially done outside of the editing. Editing is definitely a curse and blessing!

        Like

      2. That’s not embarrassing, I think it’s fairly common to edit and re-edit or re-write. Hang in there through the editing process..I’m already missing regular writing. 😦

        Like

  2. I’m so glad that other people have to add to the bony bits. You read so much about cutting stuff out but much less about adding it in. That’s where I am at the moment with my rewrite of my first novel, after concentrating on short stories and a novella. I’m building up to longer work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

