NaNoWriMo – Keeping motivation with a writer’s group

Keeping motivation with a writer’s group

Before last year, I had a history of starting novels, writing intensely for awhile, and then, allowing a road block in my novel to derail the entire story.  For all of these projects, I would start off loving my story idea and after a few months of struggling, I would begin to hate the story.  Then my inner critic would take hold – “that would never happen,” I’d lecture my plot twist.  Or I’d write my heroine into a corner.  Facing mounting problems with my stories, I would eventually give up on them and stop writing for long stretches of time.

Last year, I joined a group of writers to get through NaNoWriMo.  We had different interests and wrote under different genres, but even so – our little group worked well together.  When NaNoWriMo ended, most of us were hooked and continued to meet every Sunday.  Setting aside a time to write every week – and having a group of people expecting me to show up – helped me finish the first draft of my first novel and start a second novel.

There are a lot of people who make up our circles (friends, family, co-workers, random people you see every day).  Not all of these people get the “whole writing thing.”  Some nod their heads with glazed eyes when you talk about your novel ideas.  Some support you and offer to read your finished stuff.  Then there are other writers – the special folk that not only believe that you can write a book, they understand what it takes to get there – can talk you through your worst plot flaws, lackluster characters, and push you through all that lingering self-doubt.

During NaNoWriMo, don’t be afraid to reach out and join a writing group or go to one of NaNoWriMo’s write-ins – they may help you get over the dreaded mid-November blues (when you question your talent and your sanity) and give you the final push when you’re in the home stretch.

Good luck writers, ten days down and still writing! Hope you are too.  🙂

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Keeping motivation with a writer’s group”

Leave a Reply

