NaNoWriMo – humble writer struggling against the numbers

I don’t know about you, but my writing pace is slow.  Now, I can run my mouth off discussing topics on nearly anything, but sit me down to write a novel (outlined or not) and my pace becomes glacial.

Why?

Even when I know where I want to go, can see my character frolicking around in my mind, it still takes forever.  During NaNoWriMo, the total goal word count is 50,000, which makes the daily word count around 1,666 – does anyone else wonder if the triple 6’s allude to demonic writing possession this month?

image

No?  Hmm, maybe I’ve been writing too much today.

It’s the number of words a day, demonic or not, that always messes with my head.  Call it performance anxiety (can’t keep my pen up), but logging in X number of words a day is always a struggle for me.

But, a huge part of writing is the struggle – not only of characters, but of the writer too.  That’s why, if  you share the idea of NaNoWriMo with people in your circle, you’re sure to find at least one person who will tell you that they too have an idea for a novel, if only they could get it down on paper.  I think that there is at least one novel in all of us – the trick is to pull it out and put it on paper.

The daily word count (the triple 6’s do go away if you round up to 1,667 words a day) is ultimately your friend in this process.  The struggle to meet it every day and continue on (even when your story gets a little silly, or a little slow) is what will help you finally finish that story that has been rattling around in your brain.

So NaNoWriMo-ers, did you struggle today?  I sure as hell did…

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – humble writer struggling against the numbers”

  1. I just read another post that said “you’re winning as long as you’re writing.” Every word counts, so even if it was a slow day, kudos for fighting against the mean little woman that sits inside of you and says, “Why bother?” Tell her to shut up. Good luck!

    Like

  2. The past two days have been tough for me. Some days I write over 1,500 words, then I have days I can barely write 400. But I always give myself some sort of credit for trying to write regardless of word count. Getting my idea down is a very long process but I am loving every moment that I am writing and creating. Keep up the good work and best of luck to you!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Good luck to you too! 🙂
      A big problem of mine is that I like to visualize a lot of what I’m going to write before I get it down on paper – and that takes precious time. Sometimes, if I start with something I have a vision of, I can flesh it out more as I write and follow it through until it runs its course. But it’s always slow going.. What I wouldn’t give to be able to sit down and write as much as Stephen King or Nora Roberts.

      I hope the next few days are better for you in this long writing marathon. 🙂

      Like

  3. I haven’t put much stock in the individual day goals. It’s the 50,000 by the 30th that I’m keeping my eye on. The last two days I’ve really been struggling to get my word count up, but I know I can make up for it. Just need to connect my brain to my hand and get this story OUT! Lol/

    Like

    1. I hear ya. I do a lot of catching up on the weekend, to make up for all those days (especially after the time change) that I come home and just want to sleep.

      Good luck to you in your NaNoWriMo adventure and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

