Review: “Beg (Songs of Submission)”

E-book review of “Beg (Songs of Submission)” by: CD Reiss

imageIf you couldn’t tell by the title or the cover art, “Beg” (about 100 pages) is the first in an erotic novella series.  It is the story of Monica, a struggling/aspiring singer, and the multi-millionaire, Jonathan (I know, I know.  But if we discounted every book with a wealthy character in it, we would cut out a large part of the romance/erotica genre).

In its summary, “Beg” is compared with the likes of that infamous saga, “50 Shades of Grey.”  As I could not get past the first few pages of 50 Shades (because the writing was terrible), I can’t vouch for this novella’s similarities.  This story is told in the first person from Monica’s perspective.  In addition to fleshing out Monica’s character fairly nicely and in a short novella, the author adds interesting side characters that populate Monica’s life.  This allows the novella, in a sub-genre that notoriously lacks substance, to have more depth than I was expecting.  The novella was free, a fast read, well-paced, and had a surprising amount of substance for an erotic short.  As a result, I give it a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars.  If you’re unaccustomed to the erotic genre, this is not a bad story to start in, as it shouldn’t send you running for the hills screaming.  It does, obviously, have graphic adult content and if that’s not your cup of tea, I wouldn’t recommend you buying it.

I have to confess that while I’m no stranger to erotic fiction, I don’t read very much of it.  I actually decided to get the free kindle version of this novella because 1) it was free (I’ve downloaded the most inane books because they were free) and 2) the silliness of the cover art – it actually made me cackle in glee.  I mean, look at it: have you ever seen a flower have that much fun?  This brings me to another growing trend in the romance and erotic genres – cover art fruit and flowers.  Never in my life have I seen so many sweaty, plump, and succulent pieces of produce – not even in commercials designed to make me buy them.  The whole thing makes me erupt into a fit of giggles (I am, in fact, waiting for a certain bookstore to kick me out when this happens) and gives me the urge to open my refrigerator to make sure my produce is adequately cool and not beaded in sweat.

Leave a Reply

